A Note To My Younger Self.

Dear younger me,

It has been long since we met, a lot has changed since. There are so many things I want to tell you, it’s hard to know where to start.

I want you to know, you have a whole life ahead of you, my love. Well, it’s evident since it’s the older you typing. You have a life filled with purpose, love, blessings and endless possibilities. But the road ahead is also not smooth, its bumpy, its’ crazy and challenging. You’ll cry so many times and want to give up but trust me when I say that, the love you will receive on your way from family and friends will bring you immeasurable joy and fulfillment amidst all crisis.

My love, I know you want to grow up so fast and see what the future holds, it’s okay, it’s normal, it’s almost every child’s dream. But, don’t grow up so fast yet. Enjoy your childhood. Play all sorts of games with your friends. Kalongolongo, kati, brikicho,kora,chobo ua, bano etc. Enjoy every moment. Trust me, adulting is a scam, most of us wish we could go back and relieve our childhood days. So, treasure this time because it disappears so fast and make sure you live every moment as fully as you can.

My dear, be content with the things you have in life. You were not raised in the wealthiest homestead, but you were raised in the loveliest home. You didn’t enjoy all the privileges that most people you’ll meet in your life have but your family did their best to make sure you received all the love and affection. So trust me, they will do their best to put you through school and hoyee! you will get your bachelor’s degree and work in a reputable company. So, my dear, trust the process and embrace all challenges and opportunities as they present themselves.

Sweetheart, life is a huge gamble. People gamble with their lives every day when they leave their homes for work, not knowing if they will come back in one piece or not. Don’t let the fear of what may happen hold you back from following your heart. Have the courage to go after your dreams. In fact, embrace the fear, own it and make it your own. You will be surprised with what you will be able to accomplish. Don’t let anything hold you back from living your life and stepping out boldly into the world.

My love, know that you are more than enough and that your intellect and emotional intelligence will take you further than you can ever imagine so you don’t need to worry about striving for success. The less you try, the more successful you will be. When you trust your inner intuition and tap into your inner power you will not just make the right choices but intuitively take the right action at the right time.

My dear, be thankful for the people who love, appreciate and support you. Let them know how much they mean to you every chance you get. Don’t be scared to show them love and affection. Nurture the relationships in your life. Strive to always give more than you take from them.

One last thing, I hope you hold space for yourself and you stop apologizing for things that are not your fault. Learn to give yourself grace. This life is yours and you have no reason to apologize for who you are. Never stop searching for the blessings all around you. If you learn to look, you will find them everywhere.

My love, if you’ve taken anything away from this letter, I hope you’ve learned that. You are worthy.

With love,

Wanjugu.

Published by Miss Wanjugu🤗

I am a giant bookshelf of unwritten histories.

2 thoughts on “A Note To My Younger Self.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started